LibGuides: Psychology: Psychology

Recommended Psychology-Related Databases @ RCC

Films on Demand Video Collection | Infobase This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a streaming video service containing outstanding educational programs. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection of over 6,000 titles.
Psychology Database | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Select Psychology eBooks & Articles @ RCC

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies
Authors: Goldberg, Abbie E; Beemyn, Genny
This encyclopedia, featuring nearly 300 authoritative essays, will take an interdisciplinary approach to trans studies. Psychology, sociology, history, family studies, K-12 and higher education, law/political science, and medicine will be heavily emphasized.
25 Myths About Bullying and Cyberbullying
Author: Englander, Elizabeth K
The author dispels common myths related to the confronting of bullies, victims seeking revenge on bullies, keeping kids off their phones and computers to prevent cyberbullying, the links between bullying and suicide, and many others.
What's Wrong with Sterotypes? The Falsity Hypothesis
Article from: Social theory and practice, 2021, Volume 47, Issue 1
Stereotypes are commonly alleged to be false or inaccurate views of groups. For shorthand, I call this the falsity hypothesis. The falsity hypothesis is widespread and is often one of the first reasons people cite when they explain why we shouldn’t use stereotypic views in cognition, reasoning, or speech. In this essay, I argue against the falsity hypothesis on both empirical and ameliorative grounds.
Being You: The Body Image Book for Boys
Boys will find answers to the questions most on their mind, the truth behind many diet and exercise myths, and real-life stories from other boys.

Select Psychology-Related Books @ RCC

The First Dictionary of Psychoanalysis by Richard Sterba; Peter T. Hoffer (Translator)
Call Number: RC 501.4 .S84 2013
ISBN: 9781782200536
Publication Date: 2013
A new translation of the classed 1932 Dictionary by Dr. Richard Sterba.
Internet Addiction in Children and Adolescents by Kimberly S. Young; Cristiano Nabuco de Abreu
Call Number: RC 569.5 .I54 I553 2017
ISBN: 9780826133724
Publication Date: 2017
Experts in the field examine the research that shows the social, cognitive, developmental, and academic problems that can result when children spend excessive time in front of screens.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid by George S. Everly; Jeffrey M. Lating
Call Number: RC 480.6 .E91145 2017
ISBN: 9781421422718
Publication Date: 2017
Designed to mitigate the effects of acute stress and trauma and assist those in crisis to cope effectively with adversity.
Leonardo's Brain by Leonard Shlain; Kimberly Brooks (Contribution by); Tiffany Shlain
Call Number: N 6923 .L33 S55 2014
ISBN: 9781493003358
Publication Date: 2014
The author employs state of the art left-brain scientific research to explain Leonardo DaVinci's universal genius.
Mania and Marjorie Diehl-Armstrong: inside the mind of a female serial killer by Jerry Clark; Ed Palattella
Call Number: HV 6517 .C525 2017
ISBN: 9781442260078
Publication Date: 2017
A history of how the criminal justice system has handled complex and controversial issues surrounding mental illness.
The Misinformation Age by Cailin O'Connor; James Owen Weatherall
Call Number: BF 323 .E7 O23 2019
ISBN: 9780300234015
Publication Date: 2019
Philosophers of science Cailin O'Connor and James Weatherall argue that social factors, rather than individual psychology, are what's essential to understanding the spread and persistence of false belief.
Social Issues in Living Color by Arthur W. Blume (Editor)
Call Number: GN 502 .S637 2017
ISBN: 9781440833366
Publication Date: 2017
Examines the challenges and solutions from the perspective of ethnic minority psychology.
When the ADHD Diagnosis Is Wrong by Paul G. Swingle
Call Number: RJ 506 .H9 S95 2015
ISBN: 9781440840661
Publication Date: 2015
The author argues that although ADHD is real, most causes of children's attention problems are unrelated to ADHD and are not resolvable by drugging the child.

Psychology: Psychology

What is Psychology?

Recommended Psychology-Related Databases @ RCC

Select Psychology eBooks & Articles @ RCC

Select Psychology-Related Books @ RCC