Cosmetology - Public Service Occupations | AAS Programs - LibGuides at Robeson Community College

Recommended Cosmetology Databases @ RCC

PrepSTEP | EBSCO LearningExpress This link opens in a new window
Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests and supports those looking to improve core academic skills.
SmartDraw This link opens in a new window
Allows users to create professional-looking floorplans and diagrams, e.g., for designing your own salon.

Cosmetology Resources on the Web

Behind the Chair
Provides information related to all areas of the cosmetology field, including images, instructional videos, and news on the latest trends.
Cosmetology State Board Practice Exam
ProProfs Quiz Maker offers 100 practice quizzes and tests for students studying for their upcoming exam.
Hair Archives
A well-developed business plan provides your hair salon with a map for success and focus. Further, it can be used to obtain funding from banks or to recruit partners. A business plan outlines all aspects of your business, including your mission and goals, market, operations and financing.
Health Beauty | WebMD
This site provides tips to maintain healthy beauty. Topics covered include skin, hair, anti-aging, and cosmetic surgery.
How to Make a Business Plan for a Hair Salon
This site from USA Today provides information about writing a well-developed business plan. A business plan outlines all aspects of your business, including your mission and goals, market, operations, and financing.
Medline Plus Nail Diseases
The health of your nails can be a clue to your overall health. Healthy nails are usually smooth and consistent in color. Specific types of nail discoloration and changes in growth rate can be signs of lung, heart, kidney, and liver diseases, as well as diabetes and anemia.
Milady:
Provides quality educational and business training resources for programs in Cosmetology, Esthetics, Barbering, Nail Technology, Makeup, Massage Therapy, Salon & Spa Management and Business Training.
Occupational Handbook for Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
Provides information about jobs, educational requirements, and salary expectations for specific occupations.
Skincareguide.com
Our objective is to provide skin care information that will help you identify and treat a wide range of skin conditions. Click on the links below to get more skin treatment information from our other skin care websites including: acne, herpes, skin cancer, psoriasis, eczema, fungal infection, rosacea, lupus, Lice, cuts and scrapes and more. You can also learn about anti-aging cosmetic procedures like botox and skin fillers.
Skin Site: Skin Diseases, Conditions, Treatment and Care
On the pages of this site you will find all of the information you'll ever need on skin problems ranging from the most minor allergic reactions to very serious diseases. Anything that manifests itself on the skin will be covered in full detail.

North Carolina Cosmetology Associations

DaySpa Association
Our mission is to deliver world-class industry reports, education, networking, a resource library, business building tools and a nationally renowned Calendar of Events.
International Pedicure Association
The International Pedicure Association was developed for the modern pedicurist worldwide, to help meet their needs and concerns regarding pedicures. Through a support network along with the highest levels of education in the industry, safe high quality pedicures can be achieved. To help elevate and differentiate pedicurists who wish to go beyond their basic education, the International Pedicure Association was founded in 2004.
National Association of Barber Boards of America
The National Association of Barber Boards of America was formed in 1926 as a national organization dedicated to appointed State Board Members, officers and administrators. Related industry partners are encouraged to join the National Association of Barber Boards. Presently we have over 110 active members that work to maintain the barber professional standards and policies of the barber and hair care industry.
National Latino Cosmetology Association
This association is dedicated to providing valuable resources and services to Latino beauty industry professionals and businesses. We look forward to helping every NLCA member enhance their professional knowledge, business growth, and career focus in the beauty industry.
North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Examiners

Find licensure information and safety standards and regulations for salons in the State of North Carolina.
Professional Beauty Association

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) advances the professional beauty industry by providing our members
with education, charitable outreach, government advocacy, events and more. Probeauty is the largest organization of salon professionals with members representing salons/spas, distributors, manufacturers and beauty professionals/NCA.
The Society of Permanent Cosmetic Professionals
The Society of Permanent Cosmetic Professionals is dedicated to promoting permanent makeup safety, excellence, and professional standards by providing education, certification, and industry guidelines.

Select Cosmetology Books @ RCC

Cosmetology Exam Practice Questions by Cosmetology Exam Secrets Test Prep Staff (Editor)
Call Number: TT 958 .C67 2016
ISBN: 9781630940102
Publication Date: 2015-02-25
Cosmetology practice tests & review for the National Cosmetology Exam.
The World of Black Hair & Cosmetology Healthy Hair or Hair Abuse? a Guide to Shift Back to Real African American Hair Care by Tina Carter
Call Number: TT 972 .C373 2017
ISBN: 9781545607756
Publication Date: 2017-06-30
"Tina debunks common myths of hair care and dos and don'ts when it comes to weaves, braids, relaxers and more. She also instructs hairstylists on the importance of continuing hair education and client consultations. What Tina conveys most in her guide is that hair can empower women and their beliefs in beauty, as well as provide an opportunity for women to serve God"--Amazon.com.

North Carolina Licensure Requirements

North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
Provides information on the necessary requirements and fees associated with licensure in North Carolina.

Top Exam Prep Resources

Cosmetology State Board Practice Exam III
This is a timed 100-question test that is similar to the state board exam. It can be used as a practice test in preparation for the exam.

PrepSTEP | EBSCO LearningExpress This link opens in a new window Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.

National Professional Associations

Aesthetics International Association
AIA was founded to bring aesthetic professionals together to network, share knowledge, and gather in numbers to establish a presence in the industry. In the early 80s we began our mission to raise the standards of education and public awareness of the aesthetics industry.
American Association of Cosmetology Schools
The goals of the AACS are developing overall operational excellence, maintaining membership loyalty and intimacy, and providing leading edge programs, services and products.
The American Board of Certified Haircolorists
The certification of haircolorists has long been a vision of many professionals in our industry. Our goal is to establish a standard by which to judge competence and to acknowledge the level of excellence achieved in haircolor, thus creating credibility in the eyes of the consumer.
American Electrology Association
The AEA promotes the highest standards in Electrology education, practice and ethics and champions state licensing and regulation of the profession to protect the public interest. The American Electrology Association plays a key role in providing reliable and scientifically accurate information to its membership, the public, the medical community and government agencies.
Associated Skin Care Professionals
As the largest association devoted to skin care professionals, ASCP provides components vital to your success: affordable liability insurance coverage, treatment news and trends, free continuing education and webinars, networking, and resources to market your services.
Association of Cosmetology Salon Professionals
It is the mission of the Association of Cosmetology Salon Professionals to build and perpetuate a membership which exists to promote and support professionalism in the Cosmetology, Esthetics and Nail Industries thereby ensuring Leadership through the highest standards of Legislative Reform, Continued Advanced Education, and changing lives through Community Service Outreach.

Public Service Occupations | AAS Programs: Cosmetology

RCC Cosmetology Program

Recommended Cosmetology Databases @ RCC

Cosmetology Resources on the Web

North Carolina Cosmetology Associations

Select Cosmetology Books @ RCC

North Carolina Licensure Requirements

Top Exam Prep Resources

National Professional Associations